Well, hello there, fellow web travelers. I am back from my spiritual mission into the mountains of Teton. I met a young guru, a ski instructor named Juanita who helped me regain my downhill mojo after my five year hiatus from serious skiing. I imbibed the elixirs of the region…PBR, and Snake River Pale Ale….and enriched my body with the local sustenance….elk chops, elk tenderloin, elk burger, elk jerky. You would think that I would feel ready to leap back onto the double diamond slopes of American politics…but no. I actually paid a bit of attention to the Obamanigans that were going on while I was away, but I still remain confused about what he is actually doing to us. Is he Machiavellian, Moronic, or Madoff? I still don’t know.

Was the brouhaha over the AIG bonuses the result of his incompetence, or something he orchestrated to help in the destruction of our traditional capitalist system? I don’t know. Michael Goodwin of the NY Daily News quotes the best line of the day:

During the campaign, a fellow journalist confided that “I know Obama is a Manchurian candidate, I just can’t figure out what for.”

And what to make of his bizarre performances on popular TV shows? The brilliant cartoonist Ramirez captured one aspect, here:

null

I know the Special Olympics “gaffe”….if gaffe it was….has been done to death on the ‘net, but still, is it not of a piece with the “lipstick on a pig” supposed “gaffe” after Sarah Palin’s brilliant debut? It’s only a gaffe if the MSM says it’s a gaffe, right? Nevertheless, I can’t help but imagine what would have happened had it been George W. Bush who had committed this retarded gaffe (offensive turn of phrase intended, to make the point). My local paper put the story on page two. Do you think it would have ended up there if it had been W who had made the statement about the S.O.? Let’s try this little experiment, substituting “Affirmative Action” for “Special Olympics,” and see how innocuous everyone still thinks it is.

WASHINGTON – President George W. Bush’s appearance on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno attracted the largest audience to NBC’s late-night program in more than four years.

Unfortunately for the president, that meant a lot of people also heard him make a wisecrack about Affirmative Action that was criticized as insensitive and prompted the White House to swiftly apologize.

His gaffe came toward the end of the interview Thursday, when Leno ribbed Bush about his poor oratorical skills, derided on the campaign trail.

Bush joked he had been practicing and recently made a stump speech with only three mispronounced words. Leno offered tongue-in-cheek praise, saying, “That’s very good, Mr. President.”

“It’s like – it was like getting the editorship of the Harvard Law Review because of Affirmative Action, or something,” Bush responded.

Michelle Obama, whose husband Barack attended Columbia University and Harvard Law School as a result of Affirmative Action, called Obama’s remarks “degrading.”

“These Community Activists overcome more challenges, discrimination, and adversity than most of us ever will,” she said yesterday.

The president’s apology came shortly after the show was taped in California on Thursday. White House spokesman Dana Perino released a statement while the president was flying back to Washington on Air Force One.

“The President made an offhand remark making fun of his own public speaking that was in no way intended to disparage Affirmative Action,” Perino said. “He thinks that Affirmative Action is a wonderful program that gives an opportunity to shine to privileged grievance groups from around the country.”

null

The Anchoress has a related roundup.

View Original Article

Blogged with the Flock Browser
